Several Incumbent Legislators Lose Seats

Aug 19, 2020


Credit Bob Beck

Some notable legislators lost their seats in last night's Wyoming Primary, many were targets of a conservative arm of the Republican Party. 

In the night's biggest upset, four-term Sen. Michael Von Flatern, who is a former Senate Vice President was ousted by Troy McKeown in Senate District 24 in Gillette. Cody Representative and Education Chairman David Northrup, who was hoping to transition to the Senate, was easily defeated by Tim French.

However, Laramie Rep. Dan Furphy was successful in his bid to win his Republican Senate nomination for a seat left vacant by the retirement of Glen Moniz. Sen. Anthony Bouchard was among those who withstood a primary challenge in winning his Laramie County race.

In the House, Sundance Representative and Committee Chairman Tyler Lindholm lost his race to newcomer Chip Neiman. In House District Four, House Judiciary Chairman Dan Kirkbride was upset by Jeremy Haroldson.

Kemmerer Rep. Tom Crank lost by five votes to Scott Heiner, while Buffalo Rep. Richard Tass was defeated by Barry Crago. Gillette Rep. Bill Pownall, who was targeted by conservative groups was soundly defeated by Bill Fortner.

Have a question about this story? Contact the reporter, Bob Beck, at