© 2024 Wyoming Public Media
800-729-5897 | 307-766-4240
Wyoming Public Media is a service of the University of Wyoming
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
Transmission & Streaming Disruptions

Wyoming Public Radio Wins Three Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards

Wyoming Public Media/RTDNA
L-R: Savannah Maher, Taylar Stagner, Cooper McKim. Photo of Cooper by Aaron Breetwor.

The Radio Television Digital News Association has awarded Wyoming Public Radio three Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards. Wyoming Public Radio is in the small market category in a region that includes all radio stations in Wyoming, Arizona, New Mexico, Colorado and Utah.Among the most prestigious awards in news, the Murrow Awards recognize local and national news stories that uphold the RTDNA Code of Ethics, demonstrate technical expertise and exemplify the importance and impact of journalism as a service to the community.

Wyoming Public Radio won first place in the Feature category for a story by former reporter Savannah Maher on the concerns many Native Americans have with the One Shot Antelope Hunt in Lander.

Cooper McKim won for a new category called Excellence In Diversity, Equity, And Inclusion for his story called Reconstruction Of Chinese History In Wyoming: A Work In Progress.

Taylar Stagner's story on The Small-Town Drag Queen was featured on Wyoming Public Media's podcast The Modern West and won the award for Best Podcast.

"In the past year we have tried to increase our coverage on issues surrounding diversity, race and inclusion," said Wyoming Public Media News Director Bob Beck. "So it's gratifying to see those efforts reflected with these awards."

Since 2007, Wyoming Public Radio has won 26 regional and one national Murrow award. All three stories will now compete for the national award in their categories which will be announced this fall.

Related Content