© 2024 Wyoming Public Media
800-729-5897 | 307-766-4240
Wyoming Public Media is a service of the University of Wyoming
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
Transmission & Streaming Disruptions

Wyoming Public Radio Wins Three 2016 Edward R. Murrow Awards


The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) has announced that Wyoming Public Radio is the winner of three regional Edward R. Murrow awards. 

The highly coveted awards recognize the best electronic journalism produced by radio, television and online news organizations around the world.

Wyoming Public Radio won the region three best feature reporting award for a story by Aaron Schrank that explored the relationship gay athletes and fans have with rodeo. Schrank explored the issue during the annual Cheyenne Frontier Days rodeo. It’s his second regional Murrow award.

Wyoming Public Radio energy and natural resources reporter Stephanie Joyce won the award for best investigative reporting for her story on how the decline in oil prices could result in a number of deep oil wells in the state being left unplugged. Joyce worked with the public media collaboration Inside Energy to develop her story. 

Wyoming Public Radio News Director Bob Beck won the best sports reporting award for his feature on two veteran rodeo bullfighters and their importance to the safety of bull riders. It’s the third time Beck has been honored with a Murrow.

“We have a great newsroom with fantastic reporters and it’s a thrill to be honored with three very prestigious awards,” said Beck.  

Region three includes all commercial and non-commercial radio stations in Arizona, Colorado, New Mexico, Utah, and Wyoming. Regional winners automatically advance to the national Edward R. Murrow Awards competition, which will be judged in May. National awards will be announced in June.

Related Content