© 2021 Wyoming Public Media
800-729-5897 | 307-766-4240
Wyoming Public Media is a service of the University of Wyoming
Website Header_2021
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Transmission and Streaming Issues
Spoken Words: Readings

Mark Stevens Reads From The New Allison Coil Mystery

Mark Stevens

The son of two librarians, Mark Stevens was raised in Lincoln, Massachusetts. In September 2015, Mark released Lake of Fire, the fourth installment in his Allison Coil Mystery Series, which Kirkus Reviews calls "thrilling" and "irresistible."

Like the first three books in the Allison Coil Mystery Series, Lake of Fire is based in the Flat Tops Wilderness of western Colorado. Fellow mystery author Craig Johnson said this about the latest installment: “Lake of Fire swirls into an environmental inferno that reads all too true—Mark Stevens writes like wildfire.” This excerpt is from the opening chapter. Sunny Boy, in case it’s not clear at first, is Allison’s horse.

Also in 2015, Mark’s novel Trapline (third in the series) received the Colorado Book Award for Best Mystery and the Colorado Authors League Award for Best Fiction. He also was mentioned on NPR's "Which Books You Should Give This Season."  He lives in Denver with his wife and has two grown daughters.

Related Content