© 2024 Wyoming Public Media
800-729-5897 | 307-766-4240
Wyoming Public Media is a service of the University of Wyoming
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
Transmission & Streaming Disruptions
Follow Wyoming Public Radio as we cover the Equality State and U.S. elections online and on-air.

Four Legislative Incumbents Lose Seats In Primary

In Tuesday's legislative primaries, four incumbents lost their seats including House Education Chairman Matt Teeters of Goshen County.  

Teeters made headlines in the last budget session when he added a footnote to the budget that blocked the State Board of Education from reviewing the Next Generation Science Standards. He was easily defeated by Cheri Steinmetz who grabbed 59 percent of the vote.  

Three other incumbents also lost their seats… Mark Jennings defeated Sheridan Representative Kathy Coleman,  Bill Pownall defeated Campbell County Representative Troy Mader and Park County Representative Dave Belvins lost to Dan Laursen.  Sheridan Representative John Patton nearly lost to Ryan Mulholland but in the end won by 22 votes. 

On the senate side, Casper senator Drew Perkins won his race by 35 votes and Crook County’s Ogden Driscoll won by a mere 54. 

Melodie Edwards is the host and producer of WPM's award-winning podcast The Modern West. Her Ghost Town(ing) series looks at rural despair and resilience through the lens of her hometown of Walden, Colorado. She has been a radio reporter at WPM since 2013, covering topics from wildlife to Native American issues to agriculture.
Related Content