© 2024 Wyoming Public Media
800-729-5897 | 307-766-4240
Wyoming Public Media is a service of the University of Wyoming
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
Transmission & Streaming Disruptions
Follow Wyoming Public Radio as we cover the Equality State and U.S. elections online and on-air.

Republican Legislative Candidates Score Big Victories


Wyoming voters reminded everyone that it's still a strongly red state. Republicans won the majority of races and three incumbent Democrats were defeated.

In Sweetwater County, Democratic Sen. Liisa Anselmi-Dalton was defeated by former County Commissioner John Kolb. Republicans targeted the seat with lots of financial support. On the House side, seven-term Democratic State Rep. Stan Blake lost his seat to Libertarian Marshall Burt. Republican Mark Baker also won an open seat previously held by Democrat John Freeman.

While Albany County Democrat Trey Sherwood picked up a seat previously held by a Republican, incumbent Cheyenne Democrat Sara Burlingame lost her seat to newcomer John Romero-Martinez. Laramie County voters supported a number of Republicans targeted by Democrats, with the biggest victory coming for incumbent Sen. Anthony Bouchard.

In an interesting House race featuring two conservatives, Riverton Republican Ember Oakley defeated Libertarian Bethaney Baldes by 32 votes.

Republican senators now hold a 28 to 2 advantage in the State Senate. In the House, there are now 51 Republicans, seven Democrats, one Libertarian and one Independent.

Bob Beck retired from Wyoming Public Media after serving as News Director of Wyoming Public Radio for 34 years. During his time as News Director WPR has won over 100 national, regional and state news awards.

Enjoying stories like this?

Donate to help keep public radio strong across Wyoming.

Related Content