© 2024 Wyoming Public Media
800-729-5897 | 307-766-4240
Wyoming Public Media is a service of the University of Wyoming
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
Transmission & Streaming Disruptions
Follow Wyoming Public Radio as we cover the Equality State and U.S. elections online and on-air.

Republicans Dominate Legislative Races

Wyoming House of Representatives
Irina Zhorov
Wyoming House of Representatives

Wyoming Democrats had high hopes of gaining some legislative seats on election day, but in the end, they gained only one in the House.

Democratic newcomers Charles Pelkey in Laramie, JoAnn Dayton in Rock Springs, and Andy Schwartz in Jackson picked up Republican seats, but that was trumped by losses of previously held Democratic seats in Fremont and Laramie County. 

The biggest upset was Harlan Edmonds defeating incumbent Democrat Lee Filer.  Democrat Joe Barbuto outspent Republican Incumbent Mark Baker in their rematch from 2012, but Baker won a narrow 27 vote victory.  Jim Allen won a hotly contested race over Andrea Clifford in House District 33 that had been held by Democrat Patrick Goggles and Casper Republican Gerald Gay held onto his seat in District 36 despite a strong challenge by Democrat Eric Nelson. 

Republicans handily won all four State Senate races.  It means that Republicans will hold a 26 to 4 advantage in the State Senate and a 51 to 9 advantage in the House. 

Bob Beck retired from Wyoming Public Media after serving as News Director of Wyoming Public Radio for 34 years. During his time as News Director WPR has won over 100 national, regional and state news awards.

Enjoying stories like this?

Donate to help keep public radio strong across Wyoming.

Related Content