46 Of 48 Wyoming School Districts Fully Accredited

Jun 30, 2017

Credit Tennessee Watson

The State Board of Education approved full accreditation for 46 of Wyoming’s 48 school districts, and all 13 institutional schools for the coming school year.

Tom Sasche, the board’s coordinator, said the annual process helps ensure districts are meeting established standards and showing improvement.

“In addition to the statewide assessment system and the accountability system, Wyoming participates in something called the Advanc-Ed Accreditation Process,” said Sasche.  

AdvancEd is an independent agency contracted by the state to manage the accreditation. Sasche said they send in an external team to do school reviews. Part of that process looks closely at school facilities and resources.  

“They look at the libraries, and at technology access and internet speed. They certainly look at transportation. They look at counseling. They look at health services and food services,” said Sasche.

There were concerns about several districts: Uinta County School District #6 and Sweetwater County School District #1 have to follow-up with AdvancEd before they are considered fully accredited, and Crook County School District #1 and Hot Springs District #1 are fully accredited, but will receive warning letters.

Sasche said this number of follow-ups and warning letters is typical.